‘Those who look for genuine practice in the way of clouds and water should neither give [the “Five Schools” of Chinese zen] any thought nor bother to remember the differences in the style of teaching. It is the same with the Three Mysteries, the Three Essentials, the Four Positions of Subject and Object, the Four Positions of Illumination and Function, and the Nine Ties of Teaching. The same can be said of the Three Phrases, the Five Ranks, and the Ten Equal Wisdoms.
The words of Old Man Shakyamuni are not confined to such narrow definitions as there, which are not regarded as great. Such theories were not spoken or heard at Shaolin or Caoxi. How sad!’ (Shobogenzo Butsudo)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s